First “Bus” Ride

Today I had the Honor of chaperoning my Grandaughter Riley’s very first field trip and bus ride. Riley is 4 yrs old and she is absolutely the apple of my eye! Seriously I spoil this little luvbug as much as I can!
We are off to the Great Pumpkin Patch and Corn Maze! We both have been very excited to go! I haven’t ridden on a school bus in over twenty years and was anxious to see if it was just like I remember.
Let’s back up a bit to say oh 1967. I was eight yrs old. My father allowed us to walk all by ourselves to the “bus stop” located about a half mile from our house. I used to see the other kids in my class walking with their parents or older siblings; but NOT Me.  I was a BIG Kid! To me it was a big deal!! I didn’t need to be supervised. I was special!!


Our bus driver was named Mr Ken and he was huge I mean HUGE! He barely fit down the isles sideways.  He had to bend his body in half just to walk down the isle. HUGE! And he was MEAN! All the kids on our route were petrified of him. Needless to say there was No Nonsense on our bus.

Anyway, I was anxious to see what the trip would be like. Do school busses have seat belts now? Are you allowed to run down the isles. Was the bus driver nice?  All these questions.

Well it was completely different! First of all the Seats! Big comfy padded seats with big backs on them.  You can’t see the kids in front of you or behind. How are we supposed to socialize? You can’t talk to the kids across the isle without yelling!


And the Muzak! The school busses all have Muzak now, BLASTING all the nursery rhyme songs. The flyer the school sent home should have mentioned earbuds!! Thank God I had my essential oils with me.  Half way through our two hour trip I applied some of my trusty oils and calmed the ol nerves right down! I should have bathed in it!

  
At least the kids were having fun.  They were all singing the songs blasting through the speakers.

We got to the farm and first had lunch. It was such a beautiful day, warm and sunny. (Is it really fall?)

Immediately my poor little luv bugs allergies started. Nana and her “oils” to the rescue. I applied some to the bridge of her nose and Poof allergy attack thrawted. And it doesn’t make her drowsy!
Next there was a Little girl throwing a fit. She was hitting her sister, hitting her Mother, throwing her lunch; I felt so bad for her Mom. She took her off to the side, spanked her and that made the girl enraged. We are talking a four year old! So I quietly walked over explained that I had essential oils and offered her some Lavendar oil and She readily accepted. She applied some to the back of her ears and within 10 minutes she had calmed down enough to rejoin the group and finish her lunch. Once again essential oils to the rescue!!

  
After our lunch break we were off to the “Cow Train”. This was by far the favorite for all the kids!

There was a Grandfather who was with our group and he kept rubbing his neck. I noticed he had been doing it for about the last half hour so once again I walked up and said “Excuse me; I notice you’ve been massaging your neck for a while you must be in pain”. He said he was and that he  had neck problems for about the last 10 years. And you guessed it I have an oil for that!! I gave him some and told him to massage a couple drops on his neck and shoulders where it hurts.
At first he declined. You know Men, they never want help for anything and they are not going to let you know when they’re in pain. At least not these old rancher types! About twenty minutes later the same gentleman approached me and asked if the offer was still available and I said of course and handed him the bottle of essential oils.  I explained again he only needs one or two drops and to rub it on the back of his neck and shoulders where it hurts. By the time we got on the hayride to the pumpkin patch he wasn’t rubbing his neck anymore. He approached me when we were boarding the bus and asked again what I had given him because his pain was gone. I explained it was an essential oil made from plants. He was amazed at how well it worked! 

 

All in all it was a great day and everyone including the chaperones had a good time!

I’m soo glad I always have my oils on me! I will never leave home without them because ya just never know!!

Now it’s nap time for this Nana!!!!

One thought on “First “Bus” Ride

Leave a comment